Return to Headlines

De Anza High School Teacher Named Warren W. Eukel Teacher Trust Award Winner

De Anza High School teacher Myrna Hadjirul, center, with De Anza and WCCUSD family and friends at the Eukel Award Dinner For the second straight year, West Contra Costa Unified School District is home to a Warren Eukel Award winner.

De Anza High School special education teacher Myrna Hadjirul was recognized by the Warren W. Eukel Teacher Trust with the Eukel Award. The Eukel Award is given annually to three exceptional Contra Costa County K-12 classroom teachers.

Hadjirul was honored by the WCCUSD Board of Education on Wednesday, Jan. 15 at its first meeting of the new year. And Hadjirul was also honored Thursday, Nov. 21 at Warren W. Eukel Annual Awards Dinner at the Diablo Country Club in Diablo.

Hadjirul has been teaching for 22 years and said that her role as a teacher is not limited to the classroom.

"As a teacher I have always made it my mission to always grab teachable moments not only to teach my students the curriculum but more importantly life lessons that inevitably shape my students’ decisions, behaviors, and most importantly their character," Hadjirul said. "Our goal is always to change the mindset of our students and everyone around them about our student’s capabilities and abilities."

Last year, Pinole Valley High School’s Erik Radkiewicz was honored as one of three 2018 Eukel Award winners.

Radkiewicz and Hadjirul are the 17th and 18th WCCUSD teachers, respectively, to earn the award since 1992. For a complete list of the winners visit